Thread: How Much Weight are we Using with Dumbbells?

Default How Much Weight are we Using with Dumbbells?

Hi WaterART Ladies! I am an aquatic fitness instructor with the City of St Albert (WaterART Certified) and have had a few people ask me the same question in the last few days. We have 2 different sizes of foam barbells at the pool and people are asking me what the resistance of them would be equivalent to that on land. (lbs of pressure) If you have that information could you please send me a list of barbell size and lbs of pressure. Thank you!
    Stacey Rose

Default Not so easy as land to predict

Stacey,

This is always a common question -but not so easy to comprehend in water ( or with buoyancy). It is easy on land with free weights and not so easy with tubing or bands or variable weight.

Water and pushing dumbbells through the water is variable load or weight.
    So there isnt an exact calculation. Water is truly unique to land training ( and gravity) as dumbbells dont even weight anything on land as they are foam weight.

So, because water is so much more variable and different exercise modality than land exercise - you can never "exactly" figure this out.

You would have to do muscle biopsies to see strength gains and it really depends on what exercise not to mention working position, force and speed too!

What your people should really know is that there is a big difference between buoyancy and resistive equipment (Like paddles or boxers) . So equipment that floats is different also to equipment that sinks...

and how much they are working or LOAD on the muscles may be changed by increased surface area, lever length, direction of pull and power, force and speedo. These factors are not always equal for any one person & in fact, in water how weights work ( or don't work) largely depend on the exercise that is choosen.